Lecture Schedule for Systemic Pathology

Here is the course schedule for Systemic Pathology (DDS 6254) for fall 2020. I wish we were all together in the classroom, but because COVID, we’re not (boo). Here’s how we’ll do things:

  • Lectures will be delivered as pre-recorded videos that you can watch at any time. Most of these videos were made last year during our in-class lectures. Powerpoint slides are also posted next to each lecture.
  • Quizzes will be 10-point Kahoots; we’ll do these in live Zoom sessions. 
  • Exam reviews will be live Zoom sessions in which we’ll do a Kahoot and then open it up for questions.
  • Exams will be proctored, and we’ll be using Examplify. Each exam will be available for 24 hours, and you’ll have two hours to complete it once you start. 
  • Office hours are just optional, open Zoom sessions that you can drop in and out of at any time.

WEEK 1: Blood Vessel and Heart Pathology

Wednesday, September 9, 9:05 – 11:00 

  • Blood Vessel Pathology | slides
    • video (10:00-58:00, 1:10:00-1:45:00)
  • Heart Failure, Congenital Diseases, Ischemic Heart Disease | slides

WEEK 2: Heart Pathology and Respiratory Pathology

Monday, September 14, 9:05 – 9:55

  • Valve Disease and Cardiomyopathy | slides

Wednesday, September 16, 8:00 – 9:55

WEEK 3: Gastrointestinal System Pathology

Monday, September 21, 8:00 – 8:50 

Wednesday, September 23, 8:00 – 9:55

WEEK 4: Liver Pathology and Addiction

Monday, September 28, 9:05 – 9:55 

  • Liver, Gallbladder, and Pancreas Pathology | slides
  • 9:00 – 9:55  Optional Office Hours | Zoom meeting

Wednesday, September 30, 9:05 – 11:00 

  • What is addiction, and when is it a disorder?  video | slides
  • The reward pathway: why you can’t say no  video | slides
  • Chronic alcoholism: John’s story  video | slides
  • Treatment and prognosis  video | slides
  • 10:00 – 11:00  Optional Office Hours | Zoom meeting

WEEK 5: Renal Pathology

Monday, October 5, 9:05 – 9:55 

  • Quiz 2 (lectures from 9/23 – 9/30)  | Zoom meeting 

Wednesday, October 7, 9:05 – 11:00 

  • Renal Pathology  video | slides
  • 10:00 – 11:00  Optional Office Hours  | Zoom meeting

WEEK 6: Exam 1

Monday, October 12, 9:05 – 9:55 

  • Review for Exam 1  | Zoom meeting

Wednesday, October 14, 12:01 am – 11:59 pm 

  • Exam 1 (lectures from 9/9 – 10/7) 

WEEK 7: Benign Blood Disorders

Monday, October 19, 9:05 – 9:55

  • Anemias due to decreased red cell production  video | slides
  • Hemolytic Anemias Part 1  video | slides

Wednesday, October 21, 8:00 – 9:55

  • Hemolytic Anemias Part 2  video | slides
  • Anemias: Wrap-up  video | slides
  • Benign Leukocytoses  video | slides
  • 9:00 – 9:55  Optional Office Hours  | Zoom meeting

WEEK 8: Leukemia and Lymphoma

Monday, October 26, 9:05 – 11:00

  • Leukemia and Lymphoma: The Big Picture  video | slides
  • Acute Leukemia  video | slides
  • Chronic Leukemia  video | slides

Wednesday, October 28, 8:00 – 9:55

  • Lymphoma and Myeloma video | slides
  • 9:00 – 9:55  Optional Office Hours  | Zoom meeting

WEEK 9: Disorders of Hemostasis

Monday, November 2, 9:05 – 9:55

  • 9:05 – 9:30  Quiz 3 (lectures from 10/19 – 10/28)  | Zoom meeting
  • 9:30 – 9:55  Optional Office Hours  | Zoom meeting
  • Hemostasis: The Big Picture  video | slides

Wednesday, November 4, 9:05 – 9:55

  • Laboratory Tests of Hemostasis  video | slides
  • Bleeding Disorders  video | slides
  • Thrombotic Disorders  video | slides

WEEK 10: Exam 2

Monday, November 9, 9:05 – 9:55 

  • Review for Exam 2  | Zoom meeting

Wednesday, November 11, 12:01 am – 11:59 pm 

  • Exam 2 (lectures from 10/19 – 11/4)

WEEK 11: Endocrine Pathology

Monday, November 16, 9:05 – 11:00

  • Pituitary Pathology  video | slides
  • Thyroid Pathology  video | slides

Wednesday, November 18, 9:05 – 11:00 

  • Adrenal Pathology  video | slides
  • MEN Syndromes  video | slides
  • 10:00 – 11:00  Optional Office Hours  | Zoom meeting

WEEK 12: Skin Pathology

Monday, November 23, 9:05 – 11:00

  • 9:05 – 9:30  Quiz 4 (lectures from 11/16 – 11/18)  | Zoom meeting
  • 9:30 – 9:55  Optional Office Hours  | Zoom meeting
  • Benign Skin Disorders  video | slides

Wednesday, November 25, 9:05 – 9:55 

  • Skin Cancer  video | slides

WEEK 13: Reproductive Pathology and CNS Pathology

Monday, November 30, 8:00 – 9:55

  • Female Reproductive Pathology  video | slides
  • Male Reproductive Pathology  video | slides

Wednesday, December 2, 8:05 – 9:55 

  • Nervous System Pathology  video | slides

WEEK 14: Bone and Joint Pathology

Monday, December 7, 8:05 – 9:55

  • Bone Pathology  video | slides

Wednesday, December 9, 8:05 – 9:55

  • Joint Pathology  video | slides
  • Optional Office Hours 9:05 – 9:55  | Zoom meeting

WEEK 15: Final Exam

Monday, December 14, 8:05 – 9:55 

  • Review for Final Exam | Zoom meeting

Wednesday, December 16, 12:01 am – 11:59 pm

  • Final Exam (lectures from 11/16 – 12/9)